A to Z Challenge Theme Reveal

Banner2

Horns and whistles are blowing. Streamers fill the air. Yes, the time is here, it’s A to Z reveal day!!

The mechanics behind the idea

I came upon the idea of writing this series of children’s books, early one Sunday morning back in June 2012. The M.I.A.C series will tell the tale of young children,—who for some reason or another, find themselves invited to Alphabet Cove.

First I made a list of character names, each corresponding to a different letter of the alphabet (of course), then spent an hour devising names for the islands. For example:

Arlo (Twittle) – the island of Anzoria

Belinda (Crompton) – the island of Blomcat

Cecil (Snivers) – the island of Catmorne

—these are the first three characters and islands in the first book. There will be ten books in total. Books 1-8 will contain three stories. Book 9 will contain two. Book 10, well, that’s the ending.

Well, there you have it, my A to Z theme. Look forward to reading some great post, and don’t forget, please share the love.

Copyright © 2014 SD Neeve. M.I.A.C, including any illustrations, may not be copied, shared or unlawfully used without the prior consent of the author.
35 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge Theme Reveal

  1. Greetings, I’m sorry if I’m being a little slow, but are you introducing us to the world you are going to put in the books each day, or is it snippets of the books, or the process by which you created the world? Sounds grand whichever way 🙂
    Tasha
    Tasha’s Thinkings

    • Hi Tasha, thanks for visiting
      I’ll be revealing a character document with mock profile pictures (vector drawings) each day. And a brief sideline on the creatures which inhabit the islands. 🙂

    • It wasn’t easy, and you’d be surprised with the trouble I add when it came to naming the islands and their creatures. Names I just made up were somehow already being used! Totally threw me.
      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. 🙂

  2. What a lovely way to write an island adventure series for children! Gosh, there are so many great themes this year…
    It will be really interesting to see how your project unfolds during the month of April.
    I wrote 26 musically-inspired flash fiction pieces during the 2012 AtoZ challenge which I’m going to publish later this year…
    Thanks for stopping by my place.
    See you around on the A to. Z circuit!
    Writer In Transit

    • They posed a problem, but with a lot of imagination and the help of the Internet to source first names, I eventually got there! Thanks for dropping by and commenting. 🙂

  3. Pingback: A–IS FOR ARLO TWITTLE… | SD Neeve-Author of MG/YA Fiction

  4. Thank you for dropping by my place. I’m on my blog patrol now. I apologise for the delay. You have a superb idea going on here. I am seriously impressed by the names of the characters and the locations. It will be a great series.

Chat? Why Not!

