I Am Still Alive!

Apologies for my absence, everyone. And even bigger apologies for not visiting you over the past couple of weeks. Not that I’m trying to avoid you, although it may seem that way.

Icon-IWACA3

This past week I have finalised the summer issue of IWACA (indie writers and creative artists). A bumper 71 pages of great articles and features, which will go live June 01. For those of you participating in the summer and autumn issues, I will forward the link on the day.

WRiTE CLUB Logo2

I’d also like to mention a great opportunity for fellow writers. If you haven’t heard, there’s a 500-word writing contest called “Write Club” featured by the founder of the competition, DL Hammons on his site. If you are interested in taking part, you have until May 31 to get in your entries. Here’s the link: www.dlhammons.com Even if you don’t want to participate, I’m sure DL would appreciate if you could let people know.

Lastly, and the main reason for my absence, I’ve been formatting WAITING ready for a July release. Well, that was my intention. There I was, happily chugging along attempting 2 formats for publication, 1 for an e-book, the other, for print. Then a massive wave of self-doubt crashed over me (this should be a post for IWSG!).

For those of you who don’t know me, and I suppose that’s everyone, I’m a very picky, perfectionist of a person. And as I was formatting each chapter, my insecurities and doubts increased. So I began to chop and mess with the chapters (my editor is going to go nuts on me!). Four years of clinging to this book and I’m still finding it difficult to let go. If you’re a writer, you may understand where I’m coming from.

After a minor meltdown, and speed-reading through a handful of 1st person POV books for research purposes, the conclusion is, although I can strip away a handful of extra pronouns, I’m okay to leave it as is. Minus, 136 cases of “felt” (they had to go), leaving me with 5, which I could do nothing about. I did try.

Now after 2 days of sleep deprivation, I’m starting from the beginning with blinkers on, or blinders, as some of you may call them. Fingers crossed, I won’t fall into the same trap again! I will however, be putting aside Wednesday (don’t ask me why Wednesday) as a free day for visiting your blogs. It’s the least I can do for not being around to read your posts.

Well, enough harping, time for me to go before I wear you down. Now back to writing!

6 thoughts on “I Am Still Alive!

  1. Behind you all the way here, Sarah. Thank you for the IWACA update, I shall look forward to seeing the summer issue.
    Meantime, I can fully understand your position vis-à-vis WAITING, and I anticipate an identical problem when I eventually finish the first draft of my project.

    • Hi Keith, thanks for your support, and for being one of the first guests to feature in the summer issue. Not long now! 😀
      And the strange thing is with WAITING, I will write any other book and have no problems, but because I see this as “my baby” so to speak, it’s as if I’m trying to find faults so as I won’t have to let it go. There’s nothing wrong with the manuscript (except for the felts), I think it’s more to do with me. But hey, I’m pushing through. 😉

    • Thanks Damyanti, it is hard sometimes to let go. And thanks for your kindness. I think what I need is for someone to give it a proof read before I can finally say “that’s it, no more fiddling”. But for now, I’ll keep plodding along. 🙂

  2. Glad you’re still alive!

    It gets rough detaching yourself from edits, but at least you didn’t have much to change other than the “felt”s. 🙂 Hope you recovered from your minor meltdown and sleep deprivation, and I hope formatting goes smoothly for you.

    • Hi Loni, yeah, I’m still hanging on!

      Well, since my meltdown, (which I’ve fully recovered from now) I’ve managed to strip away another 1000 words (give or take), or excess baggage. As to sleep, I’ve managed one night of solid 5 hours, as for the other nights, it’s been a little hit and miss. I’m not complaining, I’ve never been someone who needs much sleep. 😉 The only problem I have, is it plays hell with my vertigo! Thank you so much for your concern, though. Means a lot. 🙂

Chat? Why Not!

