Climbing A Mountain…

Sunrise over Snowdonia National Park

Sunrise over Snowdonia National Park

… Physically, Mentally and Metaphorically.

It has been over a week since I returned from my holiday to North Wales. And it has taken me over a week to recover.

Physically.

The aches and pains are just about gone, and I’ve come to realise I’m not as fit as I used to be. Although I can only blame myself for this, leading a sedentary life as a writer hasn’t helped in the matter. But mainly the trouble has been with my lungs. Unlike last time, we only managed three-quarters of the climb up Snowdon. It wasn’t the best day to try the climb; the weather was abysmal with heavy rain and low cloud cover. I tried my hardest to keep going, stopping every 10-20 metres to force air into my lungs in hope of not collapsing. Unfortunately it wasn’t to be and with a heavy heart, I knew I could go no further.

Three days it took me to be able to walk at least ten paces without gasping for air. It terrified me if I’m honest, and I still haven’t plucked up the courage to go back to the doctor. And the puffer just isn’t doing it any more. Fear is a nasty bedfellow.

Mentally.

The experience left me drained, and being of a depressive nature, it only added to my misery. I avoided the outside world, disappearing into a cocoon of self-pity. Gave up on my writing and spent the time languishing on the sofa watching re-runs of Tru Blood. I’m not quite there yet, I am trying though, but I feel guilty for avoiding my duties as a wife, mother and writer. And I feel exceptionally guilty for avoiding you.

Metaphorically.

The physical mountain beat me. Not the end of the world, I know. I won’t make any promises I can’t keep though, I will, however, try my best to snap out of the doldrums and refocus. So this weekend will be about healing and repairing. Getting my mindset back on track to start the following week afresh and pick up where I left off. I know there’s a lot of catching up to do, blog posts to read, connecting with the new friends I was fortunate to meet over the month of April. And, concentrating on finishing the second book in the EIGHT series.

This time round the experience has been difficult to overcome. But I refuse to give up. I will not let it beat me, because we all face mountains now and again in our life and it is how we traverse these obstacles blocking our way that matters.

8 thoughts on “Climbing A Mountain…

  1. I’m going to “like” the post for your honest and heartfelt writing but I don’t like that you’ve felt so crap. We got half-way up Snowdon last year and that nearly killed me, not being flippant, it was difficult. I hope you’re feeling better soon, take it easy and watch some comedies. Laughter is healing. Don’t worry about us we’ll wait as long as it takes for you to get back to us. You’re worth the wait! xx

    • Thank you. I always try to stay positive, gets a bit difficult sometimes, though. As to my part of the world, I wish we could mountains where I live, but unfortunately, Norfolk is known for being flat. 😉

  2. Dude, I’m impressed. I’ve tried climbing mountains (never been to North Wales though). It isn’t easy.

    Welcome back. Sorry to hear you’re feeling down. Though I don’t have many breathing issues (unless I try to run), I understand how terrifying it can be. My son has asthma symptoms and struggles to breathe at times. No fun. I would not wish that on anyone, and I hope you recover soon.

    Just so you know, I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award about a week ago, because I think you’re awesome. Acceptance is completely optional.

    • We did Snowdon a couple of years back (I’ll have to post some of the old images) and I so wanted to do it again. Still trying to push myself to go to the doctors, but I’m feeling tonnes better now, thanks. 🙂 And thank you for the nomination, it’s most appreciated. I hope you don’t mind if I decline the offer, but please know I’m honoured that you thought of me. xx

      • Glad to hear you’re feeling better!

        I don’t mind the decline. 🙂 Just thought of you.

Chat? Why Not!

